Need a new mixer.... should I just get a A&H Mix Wizard?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Yer Blues, Apr 16, 2016.

1. Yer Blues

Yer Blues Member

Channels are starting to fail on the Carvin CP1644 I have been using 3-5 times a month for almost the last two years. It's causing issues during setup because a channel that worked the prior gig fails the next gig and then will work a gig after that. Plus, the Carvin is probably not a great sounding board. It's time to dump the Carvin and pick something else up. The last two years has been the first time I've run "live sound" for a band. It has been a learning experience, but I do think I'm improving and when everything is working on the mixer it's definitely getting less stressful... haha.

I thought about going digital, but I'm not much of a "tweaker". I think I'd prefer something more along the lines of the Carvin... which leads me to the A&H Mix Wizard. I have a 6 channel A&H Zed FX I use at home and, IMO, it sounds better than the Carvin, but it doesn't have enough channels for the live situations.

Main gig is with a female fronted country rock band with two vocalist, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass guitar, drums. 90% of the time we are providing our own sound and I am mixing from stage using a wireless to go out front a couple times during the first couple of songs. As far as requirements, I'd say...

-Atleast 9-10 channels needed. Would prefer all XLR inputs/outputs
    -Everything is mic'd, although sometimes from drums just the kick gets mic'd in smaller rooms
    -Only effects needed from board are reverb for vocals and some acoustic guitar (effects on the Carvin aren't that good, IMO, and lately have only been working on channels 9-16)