Need Advice on a strat for a Les Paul Guy

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Wally1, Jan 5, 2008.

1. Wally1

Wally1 Member

I am a long time Les Paul and PRS User and I'm thinking of getting a good strat to add to my arsenal. I have zero experience with strats. I really like the necks and radius of my R8 and my PRS wide fats. I've looked around at all the new strat models and my head is spinning. I want a good american strat with a neck and frets similar to the guitars I'm used to. Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I also wouldnt mind having a humbucker at the bridge but I know this narrows my options so all models will be considered. Hopefully I can get some advice from some strat experts here!

2. guitarfish

guitarfish Member

I am a "simple" man...not as in simple minded, I just like to keep things simple. So I bought an American Series Strat, nothing fancy, just three single coils. I love it. You are right, there are so many options from Fender now, I lose track of them.

For the most part, Fender necks are what they call modern "C" shaped, I consider them close to the 60's style neck of a Gibson. Most have a 9.5" radius, which won't be as flat as what you're used to. Personally I've never had much trouble switching between them and the flatter LP necks.

Some of the fancier ones have S1 switching, which adds a lot more combinations to the pickups, but I've always been happy with the five choices on a traditional Strat.

As I'm sure people will tell you, check out as many as you can, and you'll start getting a feel for what you like & don't like about them.

3. Sean French

Sean French Supporting Member

Hmmm...
    Get a Tele or Nocaster.:D
    I'm a LP player too.

4. Thwap

Thwap Silver Supporting Member

As a Les paul guy myself...Sean speaks the truth.

You'll like it better;)

5. Wally1

Wally1 Member

Thanks for all the suggestions guys! Keep em' coming!