Need advice regarding pedal usage

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by daacrusher2001, Aug 19, 2008.

1. daacrusher2001

daacrusher2001 Silver Supporting Member

Hi Everyone,

I'm a little new to the world of guitars/amps/effects. I've been playing for awhile, and I'm intrigued with some of the pedals I've heard.

I like my amp (Peavey Classic 30), but I've been interested in getting some new sounds from it, and was thinking pedals may be the answer.

Genres: Blues, Blues rock...some Dead, Neil Young, that kind of stuff.

I was going to buy a Boss BD-2, but I've since discovered the ToneBone pedals (British, Classic), and many others. Also interested in some of the more interesting sounds (flangers, chorus)...

My question is, do you guys typically front end your tube amps with pedals or do you use them with solid state amps like a VOX Pathfinder or something?

Just looking for some direction here....thanks!!

2. enocaster

enocaster Member

It's safe to say that over 90% of folks on this board use tube amps the majority of the time. That said, a SS amp will take pedals just as well as one with tubes.

If you are new to effects in general I'd recommend getting a used multi-effect on the cheap, simply to try out the different effect types and see what you like. The quality of each effect will not be as good as a standalone pedal, but it's nice to have a sampling to see what avenues you'd like to explore further.

That being said, a multieffects weakest area is generally the most important: overdrive, distortion and fuzz, so you might want to get a decent dirt box, too (a Bad Monkey can be had in the Emporium for ~$30). If you do your homework on pricing (ebay completed listings are good for this) and buy everything used, you can always sell pedals for close to what you paid.