Need guitar amp software. TOTAL NOOB NEEDS HELP!

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by JohnnyGtar, Aug 31, 2008.

1. JohnnyGtar

JohnnyGtar Member

Hi everyone,

I am pretty ill and therefore homebound most of the time. My 2 channel solid state amp is boring the heck out of me. I would like to get some guitar amp software (like Guitar Rig, Peavey ReValver, or some other good software that has a lot of sounds authentic, has a lot of tonal & effect options, and is fairly easy to use.)

I have XP Pro on my computer. Pentium 4 3gHz chip, 528 mb memory stick. I don't have any of tricked out sound card...just using whatever came with my computer.

I've never owned this kind of setup, but I've played a couple at NAMM shows a few years back, and so I know that this is what I want to get. Please help me to know what I need to get so that I can jam on my computer. I would truly appreciate any advice.

Thank you! :AOK

Johnny

2. LSchefman

LSchefman Member

Here's my experience, and I hope this proves helpful:

I've got IK Multimedia's Amplitube 2, and Waves' GTR 3, which I upgraded to shortly after getting Waves' GTR Solo. I've used N.I.'s Guitar Rig extensively. I use both Digital Performer and Logic, which comes with an amp modeler.

I haven't tried Revalver however.

I've used the Line6 Amp Farm as well.

First off, all of these are useful recording tools, and all of them can, and have, appeared on professional projects. I've used them professionally as well.

Let me state my first bias: Given the choice, I will 9 times out of 10 get out a mic and simply record a real tube amp.