Need help deciding: Arturia Pigments or Prophet?

GA20T

I'm budgeted for one or the other as I'm also putting together some decent recording hardware ATM. Prophet is what grabbed my attention to begin with (amazing), but I've been playing around with the Pigments demo nonstop since I downloaded it and I'm finding all kinds of sounds that really immerse me in playing and get me down right emotional. And I've never been a synth/keys person. I guess I am.

Given I'm a noob, is there much overlap here? Can either do a lot of what the other can for the most part? I've still got a lot of work to do to figure it out for myself but I was hoping for some advice from those more familiar. Pigments is such a joy to work with, both in sound and in regards to the interface.

eclecto-acoustic

Coal-hating feral hippie
Platinum Supporting Member
Get the one that helps you do what you want to do the most. Pigments will be able to cover more ground overall, but the Prophet will just plain have the hands on goods that a lot of people need/want.

JackJackdaw

I love Prophet as part of V collection but I would find it limiting on its own. Pigments covers a lot more ground and can really do anything. Also V collection synths are much better value bought all together. Arturia give heavy discounts to existing users so if you got Pigments now then V collection will be a lot cheaper later on.

GA20T

I love Prophet as part of V collection but I would find it limiting on its own. Pigments covers a lot more ground and can really do anything. Also V collection synths are much better value bought all together. Arturia give heavy discounts to existing users so if you got Pigments now then V collection will be a lot cheaper later on.
I ended up going with Pigments so that's good to know. Being new to synths/soft synths, this instrument is going to keep me busy, learning and engaged for a long time—a good thing.

Toowoombaus