need help fast - brother about to spend $500 whats the best bang for buck?.....

TRIODEROB

need help fast - brother about to spend $500 what best bang for buck acoustic. he is a total beginner.

this will be his first guitar.

he wants to buy one asap

thanks for the help guys!

:JAM

JohnSS

In my opinon, the Guild GAD series is the best bang for the buck. Yamaha, Alvarez, Seagull and Takamine all have very good models as well in that range. New guitar companies like Parkwood are also excellent.

catdaddy

Lots of good guitars in that price range. I like the Seagull S6 Cedar and Epiphone Masterbilt AJ500M. Seagull is shortscale chunky neck. Epi is long scale with a slimmer neck profile. Both come in under 5 Franklin's new.

KCWM

There is a really nice highway one strat on ebay for 500.00 BIN
He did say acoustic, just as an FYI.

I have an early 80s Takamine F360S, which is a solid-topped version of the Martin D-28 (which got Takamine sued by Martin for the design). It's the 2nd one that I've owned (the previous was stolen), and when I A/B'd it with some of the $2000 guitars at Guitar Center, it definitely had a sound that was comparable to, but obviously not on the same level as, those guitars.

They typically run under the $500 mark, which will allow him to get a hard shell case and the other things that allow one to care for and maintain an acoustic, depending on where they live.

jazzandmetal?

Silver Supporting Member
He did say acoustic, just as an FYI.

I have an early 80s Takamine F360S, which is a solid-topped version of the Martin D-28 (which got Takamine sued by Martin for the design). It's the 2nd one that I've owned (the previous was stolen), and when I A/B'd it with some of the $2000 guitars at Guitar Center, it definitely had a sound that was comparable to, but obviously not on the same level as, those guitars.