Need Help Improving My Old LP Custom

Lennox Lewis

I have a 1981 Les Paul Custom that I've been playing for 16 years.
*First Issue
I've played it a ton and the frets are very worn to where I have trouble bending at times-like I'm having to use a lot of effort "digging in" to get under strings etc. The frets are so level that I think it may need new wire. I absolutely have no idea what to replace it with. I know there are many kinds and sizes, but I have no idea what to get. Any help on what works best? I don't want to pay for it and sacrifice playability and have to do it over.

*Second Issue
The guitar sounds overly dark and muddy. I don't know if it has always been like this and I'm just more aware of tone, or if it's lost some clarity over the years with pots etc. It currently has a SD Jazz in the neck and a SD Custom SH5 in the bridge.

I've gotten to where I play my LP classic exclusively over this, and I want to incorperate the Custom back into my arsenal. I feel like it's getting neglected sitting in it's case all of the time, but I don't want to bring it back until it can perform up to standards.

Thanks for any advice you can share. :AOK

infiniteposse

Firstly you need a refret. As for size of fretwire, if it worked for you before, why don't you just get the same size wire? If you're other guitar has frets you love, you could also have your luthier measure the gauge of wire and just use the same gauge...

Muddy-wise... There's a ton of things it could be ranging from pickup height, mediocre pots/wiring to the pickups themselves. There's stunning aftermarket pups out there, so go for it if you want to make this guitar rock and you know you love it in general. Check out WCR, Lollar, Frailins and on and on. Wiring-wise, there's the RS wiring kits that I've heard good stuff about. Maybe just overhaul the electronics and pups on the guitar when you get it refretted and have a brand new guitar:)

Good luck and have fun:)

walterw

Platinum Supporting Member