Need help with my 4-10 cab speaker selection

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by fjam82, Feb 10, 2008.

1. fjam82

fjam82 Member

Right now I'm using 2 celestion g10's and 2 eminence lil buddy's (LB) in my 4-10 open back bassman copy cabinet. This is my first time ever using 10" speakers, so I need a little help with this.

I find the sound very muddy and it has too much bass. The cleans are nice and warm, but it sounds horrible and too dark when it breaks up. I know the g10's are supposed to be bright and the LB were darker. I thought the 2 would make a nice mix, but it seems as though the LB are making it too dark. What would you reccomend as a replacement for the lil buddies?

Would 2 more g10's brighten it up? Any other suggestions to replace the lil buddies? I tried using my maz jr 1-12 combo into this cab and it sounded bad, the celestion in the maz sounded a lot better, brighter, more defined and tighter...

thanks

2. Tone_Terrific

Tone_Terrific Member

First, split the 4 into 2 like pairs and try them that way (as 2-10's) so you know exactly what you are dealing with. Add 2 g10's if you love that tone.

3. rickenbackerkid

rickenbackerkid Member

I have Alinco jensens in mine and they are bright but not icepick bright, with good round mids and lows.

4. HHB

HHB Member

Kendrick black frames

5. Leonc

Leonc Wild Gear Hearder Gold Supporting Member

What kind of amp is it? Is it a bassman amp copy as well as a bassman cab copy?

I've got 4 Jensen C10Qs in my Ampeg VT-40 open-back cab copy; I tried removing a pair and putting little buddies in there and loved it. I've tried the Celestion G10s in there too...really didn't care for those myself. Way too midrangey IMO.

6. rhythmrocker

rhythmrocker 1966 Battle of the Bands Supporting Member