negative feedback loop

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by mojoworker, Jan 23, 2012.

1. mojoworker

mojoworker Member

i have an old gem amp from italy with 2xel84 and 2xecc83. i had work done on it in the past, and the tech took out wire from the output transformer back into the circuit, which really opened up the gain. i am trying to improve a harmony h430 amp with some tone issues and was looking to see if there is a similar feedback loop involved. i am not very experienced technically and was wondering if someone could give me a tip on how to reliably recognise such a loop in the schematic?

thanks -

chris

2. dazco

dazco Member

In the schematic a feedback loop will be easiest to recognize by looking for a connection from one of the speaker taps that runs thru a resistor (usually between 100k and 39k) to the unused grid of the PI. So it's taking the signal from a tap (usually the 4 or 8 ohm tap, rarely the 16 ohm) and feeding it back to the PI. If there are no connections from any of the taps going back into the amp circuit then it has no feedback loop.

3. guitarcapo

guitarcapo Senior Member

What exactly are the "tone issues"?

If you are looking for more gain there are some tricks you can do that are easy.

4. mojoworker

mojoworker Member

my issue with the amp is mainly
    that the reverb/tremolo channel has
    significantly less gain than the other
    input. i was hoping that removing a
    negative feedback loop might be a
    fairly simple way to address that, analog
    to my experience w/ the other amp.
    i would be interested in any other ways
    to improve that situation, if someone
    in the forum has suggestions for the amp.

thanks -

chris

5. phsyconoodler

phsyconoodler Member

If you look at the schematic the reverb channel uses a 6973 pentode to drive the reverb and the other channel has 12AX7's.No negative feedback loop in that amp.