Neil Young's Cortez - Key question

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by daacrusher2001, Sep 29, 2008.

1. daacrusher2001

daacrusher2001 Silver Supporting Member

Hi, not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but it seemed appropriate...

I'm not a theory expert, and I've been playing around with Neil Young's Cortez and have a naive question around the key of this song. It seems to be in E, but I'm not sure I fully understand how the progression fits this key (Em, D, Am7).

Do any of you play this song, and if so, would you be willing to explain why this is in the key of E?

Also, from a soloing point of view, it seems like it's mostly in Em. Other scales that might work here?

Thanks, and if this is the wrong place for this question, let me know...

2. haslar

haslar Member

The chords are Em7 D Am7 C9.
    The key is indeed Em.
    I'm not a theory expert, but I know that defining the key of a tune is not a straightforward task.
    But in this cas:
    - The song starts with Em
    - There is no modulation, and the Em scale is used throughout
    - all the chords used use Em scale notes.

3. JonR

JonR Member

I agree, E minor (natural, or E aeolian, to be precise) covers the whole thing.

I don't want to start a Sweet Home Alabama-style dispute over this :eek::crazy:rolleyes: - but it would be possible to hear the centre as Am (A dorian), seeing as that chords lasts twice as long as the others, and comes at the end of the cycle. But I still hear the gravitational centre as E.

IOW, the answer to the OP is the key is what SOUNDS like the key. Chords can point various ways theoretically, but what feels like the most comfortable tonal centre of the song? What chord would you end it on? (The album version fades, but Young certainly ends it on a huge Em chord live. No doubt there...)

The chords last long enough for other modes to be worth trying on each chord - eg E dorian/D major over the Em and D. Maybe A minor/E phrygian on the Am and Em.