New amp, back to Rivera

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Baba, May 31, 2005.

1. Baba

Baba Member

Only used it on one gig, so, totally in the honeymoon period, and I've been changing my rig once every 3-4 months for the last two years, so who knows how long this will be around!

My setup: PRS IRW Custom 24, Sennheiser G2 wireless, Dunlop crybaby wah modded by Area 51 tube audio designs, Korg DT-10 tuner, into amp, into Avatar 4x12 with V30's on top and G12H30's on the bottom.

I picked up an EL-34 Rivera Knucklehead reverb from a TGP/BaM member, complete with Headmaster. I had already had a 6L6 Knucklehead II last year around this time, but that was before I found the PEDALSNAKE , and I grew very tired of all the cables I needed for my setup, and it was only the 2-channel version, so I sold the Rivera and went to a Line 6 HD-147 that I used for about 5 months.

My biggest problem with any gear is this: I've used midi rack gear from 1989-2002, so, I'm used to stepping on one switch and going from, say, clean with chorus to a solo tone with delay, and having multiple tones on tap. Doing that with tube amps is much more complicated. First, I haven't found (until now) 1 tube amp that did everything tone-wise that I wanted it to do, much less that was midi-capable and came with it's own powered midi controller. I simply need more than 2-3 different tones (in a cover band), and I hate tap dancing to get them. The other problem I've discovered is that I love tubes. None of my other past gear has sounded/felt like tube amps, they've all been simulations, but not the real thing.