New amp time!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by j_m_s, Jan 25, 2008.

1. j_m_s

j_m_s Member

So ive been investing my life savings from young in pedals. But ive neglected my amp! DOH. BIG MISTAKE...

Now the time has come to upgrade! :D

so.

Requirements:

Tube or Solid State(Both are fine)
    Lightweight
    2 or more channels which are footswitchable. (1 must be a clean tone)
    Good Cleans
    Take pedals well
    Prefer it to be a combo cause id need to carry it to school gigs(No car)

I play a vast amount of genres

Rock, Punk(very little though), Pop Rock, Pop, P&W, Blues, Jazz, Alt Rock, Classic rock.

Bands would include John Mayer, Jonny Lang, Paramore, Alter Bridge, Creed, Eric Clapton, Eric Johnson, Hillsongs, Israel and the new breed, Planetshakers, Pink Floyd, Lincoln Brewster, Lifehouse and many many many more.

l'll be using it for small gigs(with drums) and home practice.

The most ill spend is probably 635 USD or less. Im a student so im tight on cash.

Any good recommendations?

Cheers
    James

2. vintage66

vintage66 Member

I have a Traynor Ycv40wr which I like a lot. I use it mostly on the gain channel set for a light/medium grind and use pedals to push it for more gain. It also has a boost, but it's really just more gain, not a true volume boost. The clean channel if very Fendery if you need that.
    I'd also check out a Peavey Classic 30 or 50. El84's instead of 6L6's-very nice sounding amps and a good deal used. Same for the Traynor if you can find a used one but they are harder to find used.

3. r9player

r9player Silver Supporting Member

Alessandro comes to mind.
    and my Chandler C38
    Why btw a channel switcher if you have a lot of Pedals?

4. GuitarDude

GuitarDude Member

also look into the peavey classic series. great amp for the price!

5. j_m_s

j_m_s Member

At home i usually dont play with pedals so. haha. yeah .