1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

New Cilia - Finished

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by BoyMambo, Jan 18, 2008.

1. BoyMambo

BoyMambo Member

Body: Quilt Big Leaf Maple (The body is one piece, but we cut the top off just below the binding and chambered it.)
    Neck: Flamed Rock Maple
    Fingerboard: Brazillian Rosewood
    Pickups: Cilia Handwound
    Tone: Seriously good.

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

2. BoyMambo

BoyMambo Member

3. edwarddavis

edwarddavis Supporting Member

very nice . can I have it!

4. paintguy

paintguy Long Hair Hippy Freak Silver Supporting Member

WOW!!!!

Awesome!!!

5. twoheadedboy

twoheadedboy Member

Great guitar, but I'm a little confused about the name...

[​IMG]

6. BoyMambo

BoyMambo Member

The maker was bought up in a Maltese family who's surname was Cilia. Out of interest, I am no expert but I think that Cilia is also the name of the hairs in your ears that transmit the air vibrations (sound) in your ear to the nerves.

7. BoyMambo

BoyMambo Member

A mate took a shot at a gig, so I thought I would share it

[​IMG]

8. elgalad

elgalad Senior Member

Haha, another AGGH'er. On TGP of all places :crazyguy

That's a beautiful guitar mate. I'm really digging the quilted top, and I've only heard good things about Charles' workmanship and service :drink

9. Grenville

Grenville Member

Looks like a fair bit of custom gear in that pic...

... hand-knitted cardigan by any chance????

10. MartinC

MartinC Member

Very nice looking guitar. How does it sound being an all maple body + maple neck? Very bright?

11. BoyMambo

BoyMambo Member

That was my main fear when I was specifying the guitar, but the guitar sounds great. What I think made the difference was that fact that it was a softer quilt maple combined with the cavities in the body with the primary one being behind the bridge.