New D'Lite 22 ODS - Amazing amp!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by andyc, Jun 15, 2008.

1. andyc

andyc Member

I just built this D'lite 22 ODS. Built from the kit from Brown Note. My wife and son bought me the kit as a Father's Day present. No, I didn't build it in one day!:p The kit showed up about 2 weeks ago - faster shipping than we expected. So I started on it back then, and worked a couple hours every day or two.

The kit was great. Everything I needed was in it. Moss at Brown Note was very helpful, as is the Brown Note forum. I'm not new to working on amps - I'm a television/radio engineer - but this is the first amp I've built from the ground up. It went together perfectly.

Today I lit it up. Only problem was a bad 12AX7, but I had a spare. I brought the amp up on a Variac/isolation transformer and all the voltages checked out fine.

[​IMG]

Once it was checked out, I brought it into the studio, plugged it into a V30, ran my '58 reissue LP into it and let it rip! This little amp is amazing! From bluesy cleans that sparkle and break up sweetly to just killer rock overdrive! Lots of flexibility in tone. WAY more gain than I expected it would have. I meant to just check it out briefly to make sure it worked but an hour later I was still wailing away. This thing has that sound that just inspires you to keep playing. No need for any preamp to push this amp, or any pedal to get overdrive - it's all there. Bluesy breakup, straight up rock to violin sustain. Damn...

I have the head cab on order from Moss, so it's not all together yet, but here's a shot of it in my studio with the '58 reissue:

[​IMG]