New electric player! Need pedal reccomendations for worship!

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by acousticplays, Jan 31, 2012.

1. acousticplays

acousticplays Member

Hi everyone,

As you can probably tell by my username, I'm quite new to playing electric guitar. I've been playing acoustic for my church's worship band for years now. Now that one of our electric players has left, someone had to fill the spot! :)

So the guitar I was able to grab is a Gretsch Electromatic Pro Jet, and I'd like to get some recommendations from you all about what starter pedals to get to be able to get the right sounds for worship. I do have a pedalboard already for my acoustic, and I currently have a Line6 DL4, a GE-7, and a OC-2 octave pedal.

Our band plays a lot of modern worship, such as Hillsong United songs where there's a lot of distortion and overdrive going on.

I want to get some sort of overdrive pedal, and also a delay where I can just set it to dotted 8th's (the DL4 is sort of a hassle since tapping in dotted 8th's is required).

I was looking at the Fulltone OCD and the Ibanez Tube Screamer, I've read that these two are pretty much at the top of the overdrive list? What would you all recommend? I sort of want to get this tone: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekz8...&context=G2b3abbfFAAAAAAAACAA&feature=g-all-c

And as for the delay, would possibly a Boss DD-5 do the trick with an external tap?

If you have any other recommendations, please feel free to let me know!

God Bless!

2. whiteop

whiteop Senior Member

DD-20 is one of the standard delays used though the Timeline and El Capistan are used also. Favorite drives for worship are Sparkle Drive, FD-2, Rats, and the regular old tubescreamer. Or you could get an MFX unit like the HD500 or RP-1000 which do a fine job too and give you a lot more effects in one package. Really depends on wht your budget is and what you're looking for.