New Fuchs Rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by mdog114, Sep 26, 2006.

1. mdog114

mdog114 Member

[​IMG]

Well I picked-up the head a few weeks ago and I just got the Avatar cabinet. It's a real quality amp that sounds wonderful. The Avatar Cabinet is also very well made and sounds great.

I've been playing for close to 30 years now and I've run a small studio since 89', so I've had the opportunity to hear and record tons of amps/speakers over the years. I own a few really nice "big guy" amps and a few different cabs, but I wanted to make this rig as "quality" as possible.

I searched and read all I could about speaker & cabs, I asked friends whose opinions I respect and tried-out as many combos as I could. I was really leaning towards the Tonkers, but I ended-up going with the Man'O'War models. I played the amp and new cab last night for a few hours and it really sounds great!

The reason I changed my mind at the last minute about the Tonkers was, I tried the amp with a EVM-12L I had and I liked it a lot. The only detractor was it made the amp seem a lot louder than it was using less efficient speakers (no surprise there!). I really liked this aspect due to my craving more clean headroom, but the amp just got too loud. My other main amp is a Bad Cat Hot Cat 15 and the only ccomplaint I have was it's clean would break-up too soon. This new 30 watter is about as loud as I'll ever need, and with a real clean speaker, it was too LOUD!

I'm still interested in the Tonker & the Tonkerlite as possibles for another cabinet, so if anyone has any input on these speakers, let me know.

Thanks for listening.

2. bluesmain

bluesmain Member

Andy did a beautiful job on that rig man! Congrats !

3. Troubleman

Troubleman Silver Supporting Member

Schweet..... Definitely.

jb

4. Mike ODS50

Mike ODS50 Member

Nice looking rig man. Sounds like you've got some great gear for your studio.

5. scottl

scottl Member