New guy with amp dilemma

Greetings all,

New here. I wanted to take advantage of the knowledge and experience here.

Bought a (used) 65 Twin reissue from GC. Got ti, and it has a problem. Used it in a rehearsal last week, and it was agreed by everyone that it wasn't loud enough. someone asked "Why did you turn up?" I had the amp on 7. Rehearsal isn't excessively loud, and having had twins in the past (it's been a few decades) experience tells me the amp should have been screaming.

So my dilemma is this - keep the amp, pay to get it working 100% or return it to GC (I've had it almost two weeks) and get a different Twin. I know I want a Twin. So I search their used gear and find the following: http://www.guitarcenter.com/Used/Fender/Twin-Reverb-2x12-Tube-Guitar-Combo-Amp-112380435.gc

I don't want to spend anymore than I would have credit for. I've been through too much with GC in the last year, and this will be my last amp from them. But as an amp tech I know said, after I sent him that link, that I'd be better off passing on that amp. It apparently has two chokes - what's the other doing in there? Who knows who did the modifications and what else has been done. Who knows how well the work was done for that matter was their opinion. But my thought was why would someone pay to have upgrades installed and not have it well done. And the amp is otherwise clean for an early 70's model. Apparently it's a 70 or 71.

I found other Twins, but they were either more than the credit I would have, or they are beat to heck.
Doesn't seem to make much sense to get another RI if I'm going to take mine back. Might as well try for a PTP wired Twin.

Just wondering what others might think about this, any ideas, suggestions, feedback would be helpful.

Thanks

radiolab