New idea for a foot pedal

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Effect of Sound, Feb 11, 2006.

1. Effect of Sound

Effect of Sound Member

I have the idea for a new pedal that will be revolutionary. I am no engineer, I just know the technology is already there to do what I want. Does anybody have any ideas as to how to move forard with the idea to a major company say....like Boss/Roland?
    I know that I need to protect my idea. I know it will sell. Any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

2. John H

John H Silver Supporting Member

Based upon my very limited experience, I'd be very careful taking an idea to a larger company. A few years ago, my brother and his friend developed an idea and a prototype for a better bicycle lighting system. They contacted a large, American bicycle manufacturer and demonstrated the idea to that company. They were told that the company was very enthusiastic. Soon afterward, however,they received a turn down letter.

Within a year, that company was marketing the exact same lighting system, at a much higher price than what my brother had intended! When my brother and his friend protested, through a lawyer, they were met with threats from a large, prestigious law firm who suggested that litigation would last a lifetime and result in financial ruin.

All that being said, I'd try to patent your pedal and offer a smaller, well-known boutique builder a limited partnership.

3. Effect of Sound

Effect of Sound Member

Thanks for the insight John. There has to be way to have the idea patented first. Like I said, the technology is already there. I am only combining things already available.

4. 908SSP

908SSP Supporting Member

Sorry if I am the doubting thomas but you have two posts and your looking for advice on a "idea for a new pedal that will be revolutionary"?

SCAM

5. Effect of Sound

Effect of Sound Member

Thanks for advice splatt. That sort of info is extremely helpful.