New Marshall Heads. Can They Compete with Boutique Heads?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by redplexi, Feb 3, 2006.

1. redplexi

redplexi Member

Is Marshall making a Head that can compete with the Boutique Amps?

2. doctord02

doctord02 Member

define what features you wanna go toe to toe on; their hand wired vintage repro stuff is as good as anybodys, but you'll pay as much as boutique. If you are talking about their channel switcher stuff I have no experience...

*edit* for my money, I'd look hard at Germino for the vintage vibe...

3. redplexi

redplexi Member

More So there Channel Switching Higher Gain amps. I have Plexis, and swear by them. I was just curious if they had a Line out to Compete with the Bogners, VHT, Diezel, etc.

4. Fretmaster

Fretmaster Member

In a word.. NO. Not even close. Of course this is just my opinion but I personally don't care for any of the modern Marshall channel switching amplifiers. The only one I felt was even slightly redeeming was the 6100. But that's about it. IMHO

5. GAT

GAT Gold Supporting Member

The new 1959HW is killer and I've had 3 Germinos, a Blockhead, a Roccaforte, and many others. Amazing tone, low noise, and the build quality is stellar.

If Marshall decides to use the HW format for a killer channel switcher, count me in!

6. GAT

GAT Gold Supporting Member

Absolutely! But, I'm glad they are getting back to some high quality gear. I A/B'd the 1959HW against a mint 1967 Plexi and we were amazed at how incredibly similar they were. My friend thought that my head acutally sounded a bit better.

7. Thelonius

Thelonius Member

"if it wasnt for all the "boutique" amps out there marshall would not be doing what they are doing now with the hw series"

And if there weren't a Mashall there wouldn't be much of a boutique market.

Chicken and Egg.