New Member with 12 string bass

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by mspin, May 28, 2015.

1. mspin

mspin Member

I am a recording artist that very recently acquired a 12 string bass for recording. I have always loved the sound of Tom Petersson of Cheap Trick and finally have got my own signature bass sound. The guitar is a Dean Rhapsody with EMG's. I tune it standard and love the harmonic sound. Here is a pic
    [​IMG]

2. hobbes1

hobbes1 Member

cool bass. don't see too many of them for sale these days.
    personally, I have always lusted after the 10 string (octave course) bass john paul jones was playing live with Them Crooked Vultures on Austin City Limits. IIRC that was a custom build.

Here's a pic of a 12 stringer he plays as well: Built by Manson guitars

http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http://www.12stringbass.net/Other12s.htm&ei=KQlnVcKTE4bLsATe2IPICA&bvm=bv.93990622,d.cWc&psig=AFQjCNHzszZufIn9eDmz2bbgcKpsWB-ijQ&ust=1432902311569616

3. TomRichards

TomRichards Member

Super nice bass! I'd love to hear it live.

Let me know how it records. Most of the Cheap Trick catalog was recorded with P and T-Bird 4 strings.

4. mspin

mspin Member

Hello Tom,