New multitrack wanted: hardware vs. software approach?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by GibsonLives, Jan 26, 2013.

1. GibsonLives

GibsonLives Member

This is going to be a long post; I'll try like hell not to make it any longer than necessary.

I've been playing the guitar for nearly 30 years, and recording original tunes for more than a dozen years. Having said that, my "home studio" has never been anything to write home about; I started with a Tascam 4-track cassette recorder in the late '90s, and moved on to my current setup - a Zoom MRS802CD (8-track digital with built-in CD-RW drive).

I also tried some Cakewalk software specifically geared toward guitarists in the early '00s, but whether it was the software or my system, it was unusable because of drag (the tracks would not stay in the tempo in which they were recorded), and editing was something I was never entirely able to get a grip on. For these reasons, I really won't count the Cakewalk, except as a reason why I'm a bit nervous about going the software route again.

Anyway, I recently bought a Roland GR-55/GC-1 Strat rig, and it's really gotten the creative juices flowing all over again. The Zoom actually doesn't sound bad when I DI the synth rig, and there's always the Bounce function, but I'd really like better sound-quality as well as more tracks so I can keep the raw data around in case I want to tweak stuff later without having a bunch of sounds fixed on a single track.

I've heard a ton of nightmare scenarios from others who have taken the software approach, but it's probably far more versatile once you get the hang of it. I'm running Win7 on a newish laptop, but that's all I have as opposed to a dedicated desktop system, so again, I'm really not sure.

Here's what I need:

* At least 24 tracks
    * CD-R drive built in (obviously, I'm covered if I go software)
    * High sound-quality (Duh! LOL)