new overdrive amp- need some help!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by hw2nw, Oct 24, 2005.

New overdrive amp head?

Poll closed Dec 31, 1969.
  1. Bogner Shiva (EL-34)

5 vote(s)
    20.8%
  2. Matchless Chieftain

2 vote(s)
    8.3%
  3. Bad Cat Hot Cat 30

3 vote(s)
    12.5%
  4. Budda Superdrive 30

1 vote(s)
    4.2%
  5. Other!

13 vote(s)
    54.2%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. hw2nw

hw2nw Member

Hey all, just looking at a few nice heads and I'm having some trouble deciding. I wanted to get some opinions from my favorite amp forum!

Check out the poll options, let me hear some input and if you have suggestions, definitely let me know! I'm looking to stay under $2000 used as a max.

I am a indie rock rhythm guitarist who plays a lot of open chords and arpeggios too. Some random bands my music sounds like: Further Seems Forever, Coldplay, Death Cab For Cutie, Dashboard Confessional, Saves The Day, Thursday, Copeland. These are more modern bands I believe. Anyways I'm just looking for some great overdrive that'll thicken the mix and sound great with a Les Paul and a Tele. Nothing super fizzy, just nice and big.

Alright...take it from here gents! :)

2. GCDEF

GCDEF Supporting Member

I really like the Mesa F series.

3. hw2nw

hw2nw Member

F series are cool, I'm not really into the 6L6's though. I couldn't get a tone I like out of the distortion channel, so compressed and muddy through my cabs.

4. Jimmydeez

Jimmydeez Member

Bad Cat black Cat.

5. electronpirate

electronpirate Member

6. G'OlPeachPhan

G'OlPeachPhan Member

I know Death Cab for Cutie is using Dr. Z's now, but I'm not sure which model(s). There's a good variety of 'overdrive amp' options in the Dr. Z lineup, all of which fall under your $2k constraint.

7. Bryan T

Bryan T Guitar Owner Silver Supporting Member