New Pedals

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by JosephUmscheid, Mar 28, 2015.

1. JosephUmscheid

JosephUmscheid Member

Hey guys,

I have been playing guitar for about 5 years now and always just used my Boss DS-1 Pedal and a DeltaLab DS-1 but I've decided to start investing in more pedals but I want your advice.

What would be your suggestions for pedals be if I'm wanting to have a soft distortion and reverb most of the time? And a delay pedal that is a little more high quality than the DS-1?

Thanks

2. HughesP

HughesP Member

Probably not your be all end all solution, but in my journey I found it useful to have some sort of multi effect unit to sort of discover what I like / want, then slowly started going after the real things... Something like a zoom ms-50g would give you reverb and a whole bunch of overdrive, distorton and fuzz sounds, not to mention amp models and lots of other effects... Plus it still costs less than most stand alone reverb pedals...

3. eddie knuckles

eddie knuckles Member

4. D Rock

D Rock Member

Get a Rat. Great distortion that can go from cleanish boost, dirt with a little grit, full blown distortion and can also get into slight fuzz territory.

If you don't have a tube amp already I would start there though.

5. bobcunningham

bobcunningham Member

We need more information on your gear and style of music you play.

6. derekd

derekd Supporting Member

No disrespect to the guys who suggested a multi effects processor, but unless you have the budget for something pricey, my experience is they do a lot of things, none of them well. They do have cool features like built in jam tracks, usb interface, etc. Might be worth it to you if you like to mess with that stuff.

You need overdrive/distortion. Style of music dictates this.
    Modulation effects - chorus, flange, phaser, auto wah, and tremolo type of effects. Modulation filters for more esoteric sorts of things.
    Time effects - delay and reverb