New Player needs advice

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by ATL_Controller, Oct 25, 2008.

1. ATL_Controller

ATL_Controller Member

I started playing about a month ago, and just started taking lessons last week. I really enjoy Blues (SRV and the like), early and classic Rock. I play on a budget so I have to be careful what equipment I get at this point. I would appreciate any suggestions on "must haves" such as pedals. I don't want to repeat purchases due to getting the wrong equipment.

I have a Epiphone Les Paul Signature Semi-Hollowbody that has incredible sound but that I think is not comfortable to put my arm around (It is fs/ft on TGP). I also have a Marshall 30 watt amp with some effects built in. The distortion isn't too bad but I was thinking I should be using pedals for effects. Thanks in advance for your advice!

2. cjcayea

cjcayea cool as a cucumber in a bowl of hot sauce

hello! welcome the wild world of guitar playing!

ill be quick, and get straight to the point. if youve only been playing for a month, i would concentrate on playing effect-less most of the time. things like distortion, overdrive, fuzz. . . they all sound great when used properly, but they can hide mistakes and poor technique. and proper technique is king- everything else will follow. that said, some typical effects include reverb, delay, distortion, overdrive, fuzz, wah, compresion. . . you should do some window shopping online just to get an idea of whats out there. and when it comes to choosing a piece of gear, try to play as many different types as possible.

good luck to you. guitar is difficult, so determination is important.

3. Han Solo

Han Solo Member

Hi Alt!,

There is no such thing as a "must have". There are many great pedals out there that just don't suit your needs, depending on style, other gear you have etc.