New player wants Megadeth type heavy metal guitar recommendations

BarneyFife

This one is out of my wheel house so I'm reaching out for some help. Good friend of mine want to start playing, total beginner, I gave him my knee jerk reaction, strat, until he told me what he likes musically.

He is looking in the $500-$800 range.

thanks in advance, Barn

Last edited:

phodg

He uses Seymour Duncan pickups. Used to use the JB and 59, but now he has a signature set. He's also used BC Rich, Jackson, ESP and Dean guitars pretty extensively.

ned7flat5

I picked up a used ESP LTD M-100FM - it was very cheap because the previous owner carved “SATAN” in the top with a pen knife.

The playability of the guitar is surprisingly good - extremely low action, dead straight 24 fret neck, rings acoustically louder than all my other guitars and stays in tune for months. Not bad for a mistreated Indonesian built superstrat.

In fact, I achieved a long time ambition to learn Satch’s (currently controversial) “Surfing With The Alien” on it in no time at all, underscoring the old maxim of having the right tool for the job.

They can be had for next to nothing and would be my earnest recommendation to a beginner metalhead irrespective of their capacity to pay more.

Misterbulbous

I picked up a used ESP LTD M-100FM - it was very cheap because the previous owner carved “SATAN” in the top with a pen knife.

The playability of the guitar is surprisingly good - extremely low action, dead straight 24 fret neck, rings acoustically louder than all my other guitars and stays in tune for months. Not bad for a mistreated Indonesian built superstrat.

In fact, I achieved a long time ambition to learn Satch’s (currently controversial) “Surfing With The Alien” on it in no time at all, underscoring the old maxim of having the right tool for the job.

They can be had for next to nothing and would be my earnest recommendation to a beginner metalhead irrespective of their capacity to pay more.
lol