New to (and loving) the slide.

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by hawaii5_o, Oct 19, 2008.

1. hawaii5_o

hawaii5_o Member

So I used a glass slide for some accent parts and a lead in service today and it was great! I don't have a ton of experience with slide so it stretched me quite a bit. It was so much fun to do something outside of my normal guitar comfort zone. I got some great tones with it using my Barber LTD. I may just have to add this thing to my normal setup.

2. GuitarDude

GuitarDude Member

slide is a great tool to have up your sleeve. throw some verb and delay and you've got some synth-pad type tones going with swells. and it definitely makes you think differently and it requires a different discipline. welcome to the slide club!

3. tholle1

tholle1 Member

i started playing guitar only to play slide. only been playing about a year and have really just played along to music..allman brothers, derek trucks, etc.. Ive tried to learn scales and songs but i always seem to end up putting some music on and just playing with it, and i guess just adding my own part to songs that i know. I have no clue if i am any good at it, but i love it anyways.

and i have never tried delay or other effects with it (i do use a litle reverb), but im sure it would be pretty cool.

4. Seegs

Seegs Member

been trying to add slide to my bag of tricks for awhile now and have bought a bunch of different slides trying to determine which finger is more comfortable...have done some reading about technique and visited some sites dealing with slide...

after all this I find that I suck miserably at it...this is my story so far...I'm not giving up but boy it's a lot tougher than I thought...

Chow,
    Seegs

5. mad dog

mad dog Silver Supporting Member

Seegs: Don't give up. It takes the longest time to feel comfortable. Your left hand has to loose and comfortable, curled naturally into the right position. Very hard to learn how to relax. Over time, it just happens.