New Updated Opinions On The Xotic Mini Compressor

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Abandoned, Mar 8, 2015.

1. Abandoned

Abandoned Member

What are everyone's current, updated opinions on Xotic's mini compressor? I'm interested in small footprint and cheap price point but want it to kinda polish up my guitar tone a bit by adding a smooth sheen and adding some brightness or thinning out the tone a bit.
    Any tone sculpting abilities in this pedal? Or what inherent voicing does it have?

2. hendrixstrat

hendrixstrat Member

I'm not a comp expert, but owned a few..Bought a 2 knob keeley when they were the all the rage..Tried to like it, but all it did was squash my tone..Bought a Boss CS 3 and actually liked it better than the Keeley..It got old quick due to the fact that it really sucked something out of my tone..Next up was the JHS Pulp n Peel..If this was in a case as small as the Xotic SP, it would still be on my board..Does what it needs to, very transparent if you want it to be, and best of all you don't even know it's on..

I bought the Xotic due to space restraints..I was not a fan the first day that I plugged in..The PnP is so non in your face that you forget it's a compressor..The SP took getting used to..After coming back to it with a fresh set of ears, I don't mind it at all..I'm not a super compressed country picker. I use a comp pretty much as a limiter..The SP works well for that with some knob tweaking..If you want a comp that will give you a subtle string balance, and slight level of sustain like me, then you can't beat it for the size, and price.

3. ChampReverb

ChampReverb Silver Supporting Member

I think the Barber Tone Press and Wampler Ego sound better.

The Xotic seemed to roll off highs and lows more. Still, it's a decent compressor, especially for the size and cost.

-bEn r.

4. Black_Label

Black_Label Member