New valves..must I re-bias?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by San, Nov 19, 2003.

1. San

San Member

HI folks,

First off I have to say that I'm rather new to all this valve amp stuff so please forgive me if this question is just plain stupid!! ;)

I've got a Fender HR DeVille which I love but I thought I'd try some different output valves (Sevtlana 6L6GC) to see if they had any effect on tone. So, I now have a matched pair of new tubes that I want to try out but I'm scared because I've read that if you change valves without re-biasing the amp (whatever that is!) I could cause perminent damamge to either a) the valves, b) the amp or c) myself!!

Is this the case? Can I just replace the current valves (Groove Tube 6l6) and not worry too much about it or will I blow myself up? What happens if I loose a valve during a gig can I just do a quick swap??

Oh yeah I just remembered that my amp has a bias control thingy somewhere inside the chasis. Does this mean I can do the job myself??

Thanks in advance for the help guys and gals..

San.

(Tube amp virgin (sort of))

2. VaughnC

VaughnC Supporting Member