new version of Lilina up

Discussion in 'Member Video and Sound Clips' started by zenpicker, Oct 31, 2005.

1. zenpicker

zenpicker Member

Just redid my tune "Lilina" using a new and much better (ADesigns) preamp and a Goodall rosewood guitar. Any comments/critique on tone, tune or performance much appreciated! I'm still learning how to use this hotrod.

http://www.edwardhamlin.com/music/lilina.mp3

2. pfrischmann

pfrischmann Member

Beautiful!

Are you using a mike as well? The top end just seems a little steely.. I usuall find that adding a mike pointed at the twelth fret adds a bit of midrange and calms down the piezo top end.

Very small point based on preference.

Very, very nice.

Goodalls are just plain magic.

3. r9player

r9player Silver Supporting Member

just want to say that is beatiful! and one awesome git

4. Bryan T

Bryan T Guitar Owner Silver Supporting Member

That is a nice composition and I think the recording sounds really good.

A few comments that are meant to be constructive since I do a lot of solo acoustic recording as well. I'm probably listening closer than any normal listener would.

1. Was this compiled from a few different recordings? The beginning and end sound fairly midrangey (perhaps a phase issue?), but the faster middle section sounds different.

2. The panning of the guitar changes through the track, which again makes me wonder if you compiled takes.

3. There is some distortion/clipping at some points during the clip, especially during one of the pull-off bits in the fast section.

4. The playing is for the most part very clean, but there are a few string squeaks that I think you could clean up.

Again, I think it is a good tune and it sounds well recorded, just a few things to think about.

Bryan

5. zenpicker

zenpicker Member

What a wealth of helpful comments! Thanks to all. A couple replies to points made: