1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

New year's resolution: reasonable picking-speed target?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by ninjaaron, Dec 28, 2017.

1. ninjaaron

ninjaaron Member

I've been playing for about 16 years, but I never really focused on technique, because I was playing mostly in chruch and that isn't very demanding music. I mostly just focused on learning songs, making up cool riffs, ear training and improv.

My left-hand technique is pretty decent, I guess (it doesn't give me trouble anyway, but I admit that my pinky moves too much). I've recently encountered some parts in songs I wanted to learn that gave me problems -- faster songs with some fairly preciese (but not very complex) sixteenth-note licks.

I did a test today, and to my shock and horror, I found that I can only alternate pick sixteenth notes cleanly and consistently at 100 BPM, so I decided it's time to work on that. Interestingly (to me), it doesn't really matter what my left hand is doing. I can be playing scales or just picking on an open string, it still gets sloppy at not-much-above 100.

I can't decide if my goal for my New Year's resolution should be to get clean 16th notes at 160 or 140. I plan to practice my picking for like 10-15 minutes a day or something. What kind of progress is realistic to expect in a year? I'm leaning 140.

Also note that I'm not a very coordinated person (I can't do sports ball), so I tend to expect slower progress than other people in these areas.

Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
  2. rawkguitarist

rawkguitarist Member

I can't say what your progress should be. But of course if you play things perfectly at slower tempos and slowly increase/push those tempos you should progress.