newbie here; delay suggestions please?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by kidd36, Feb 21, 2008.

1. kidd36

kidd36 Member

I know there have been shootouts about delays, but ya read this and that, and NONE seem to be quite right...I like analog, but can see digital applications as well. But if ya go with for example Eventide Timefactor ya rely on too much 'computer risk' as it's just so digitally based.

I do own an old MXR analog delay (green box, 3knobs, ac plug) but no tbp, etc although of course some righteous delay.

SO I want to get something modern enough, yet vintage enough.

And then there's the tap issue, 'Edge' type of delays, ability to eq the repeats, it never ends.

SO would a Quciksliver (Blackbox) be such a bad idea and forget the tap although I THINK I could plug in an expression pedal...?

Confused as hell!

:jo

2. DerekEstrada

DerekEstrada Member

First off...WELCOME to the geek page! Glad to have you aboard. My fave delay pedal is the Guyatone MD3. Got rid of my DD-3 because the MD was louder and cleaner. That being said, it won't suit your needs. The best pedal out there for achieving that Edge tone is the Line 6 Delay Modeler. It does everything. Good clean sounding unit. Look at all the pro's who have them on their boards. I've used one, and although it was too sophisticated for my needs, I can tell you that it's a great unit and does the tap-tempo as well as any other on the market. That's my story, and I'm stickin to it. Good Luck my friend!!!!

3. bilbal

bilbal Member

The coolest delay I have had lately is the Digilog by Freakshow. There is nothing too fancy to it but it's killer.

4. tonecrazy

tonecrazy Supporting Member

I like the re-20 a bunch. Modern abilities with vintage tone.

5. burner

burner Member

I've always been partial to the Ibanez analogs...AD-9, AD80, etc.
    I also like the Boss DM2 and DM3