• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Newbie needs help!

MrEma93

Hello guys!

This is my first post on this forum. My name is Luca, I'm from Italy! I'm a self-taught acoustic guitar player and I'm approaching the pedal-board world. I'm a big fan of The Tallest Man On Earth, I really love his sound!

My dream is to start building, brick by brick, a pedalboard like his one (I'm a Strymon's fan too). I hope you can help me!

(sorry guys but my english is far from perfection)

I did some research and that's what I found:

Live in Copenaghen (2013)

Radial Tonebone JX-2 PRO
- white cable: tuner
- pink lane: Strymon El Capistan -> (drive?) -> Strymon Flint -> double channel output
- green lane: Strymon blueSky -> single channel output

Live in ?London? (maybe 2016)

Radial BigShot ABY
- lane 1: Strymon BlueSky
- lane 2: Strymon BlueSky + El Capistan + Flint + Deco and Moog Minifooger Drive

He has 2 amp: Fender '59 Bassman LTD and maybe a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe

Behind his leg there's a grey box. It's a power supply, isn't it?

I have some questions:
- why some pedals have 2 inputs (bluesky) and others only 1? what happens if I use only 1 output?
- why does he use 2 amps? Is one for Strymon's shimmer function?
- what happens if instead of those 2 amps I put a Fishman Aura Spectrum DI? (DI -> pedalboard -> mixer)
- what happens if I use a single lane with bluesky shimmer?

Thanks for your patience and for your help!!
I hope I didn't make too many grammatical mistakes.

bigEbeer

Silver Supporting Member
On the first picture the pink lane pedal you haven't identified is a Catalinbread Echorec

The gray box is hard to tell. Doesn't looks like a power supply to me, possibly a junction box, buffer/preamp, of some sort. You can see a 1/4 cable going into it.

The 1 vs 2 inputs is Mono vs Stereo. If you are just using 1 amp you will be fine just running the 1.

He seems to be using 2 amps as either a stereo rig or a wet dry setup