1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie question - WOOD???

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by lookslikemeband, Oct 9, 2005.

1. lookslikemeband

lookslikemeband Member

Hey gang -

I've got some experience fixing, upgrading, modding, even refinishing guitars (electrics).... and I'm gonna give it a go at building a design I've got!!!

Ideally, I'd like to build the body out of one piece of good, quality wood. (I know that my choice will affect my finish, tone; etc...)

WHERE can I find a piece large enough (Ebay seems useless)??? And how big does it need to be?? A LP-sized blank seems to run about 22"x14"x2" (rough estimates)

Any help would be much appreciated!!!!

Lance :)

2. Ron Thorn

Ron Thorn Gold Supporting Member

3. lookslikemeband

lookslikemeband Member

4. whoofnagle

whoofnagle Member

Agree with Ron. +1 for Gallery... They have hooked me up with some nice stuff in the past.

Bill

5. Barefoot

Barefoot Senior Member

6. cSuttle

cSuttle Member

Thanks for posting that site Ron. They have a couple of stock flat woods that would really be worth me looking at. Of course, who would know more about finding great woods than you. Just look at your guitars. You da man Ron.

7. lookslikemeband

lookslikemeband Member

Man! You guys rock!!! I've been here for a long time, and seen a LOT of great work..... The pressure's on to try to make mine really good!!! :cool:

8. cSuttle

cSuttle Member

Good luck. Post back when you have some pics.

9. KevinF

KevinF Member

+1 on gilmer wood. They have some killer one piece mahogany and limba body blanks.

10. lookslikemeband

lookslikemeband Member

Will do... I'm pretty excited!!!

Right now, I'm trying to decide whether to go with:

• Solid Mohogany - Safest Route (cheap if I mess up)

Mahogany blank with cap (spalted maple) - ooooh! :D