Next Step to Improve Technique/Playing?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by ofortuna, Nov 3, 2005.

1. ofortuna

ofortuna Guest

Hi.

I have been playing guitar for about 2 years straight with lessons. I can read tab but music notation is extemely hard. To put it into perspective, I am struggling with Bach Invention #1. And I do take music seriously (more than just a throw-away hobby), and am taking a music theory class at my high school (not geared towards guitar :( ) . I am considering some sort of a career in music and would love to attend a music college when the time comes.

I really want to improve my technique, sight reading, speed, theory knowledge (and be able to apply it to guitar), and be able to comp and solo in differnt styles, etc.
    Right now my level of guitar playing is a little less than on par with Angus Young (in terms of speed, theory, tapping, soloing, etc).

So...my question is what should my next step be? Is there a definitive book (or book set) out there that has a bunch of exersices and other things to improve my playing? Im itching to get better. Oh I almost forgot, Im dying to learn how to sweep pick, but I cant seem to get it.

Thanks in advance for any replies!

2. Mullet Kingdom

Mullet Kingdom Senior Member

Well, obviously you need to be practicing everyday--and I assume you are.

Concentrate on learning songs not riffs.

Join a band and get out there and start gigging.

Is there a jazz band at your high school? If so, see about auditioning for it.

Don't be discouraged. It sounds like you're doing fine. Growth comes in spurts. Just keep playing and practicing, try to keep learning and more importantly keep having fun.

Don't sweat it, you'll be fine. :)

3. fr8_trane

fr8_trane Member

If you're serious you will need a good Jazz Guitar teacher to learn this stuff in a structured way so as to maximize your time. Don't worry about speed and technique, they are merely means to an end and will come in time with practice.