NGD: I couldn't be more excited

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by wsaraceni, Sep 18, 2019.

1. wsaraceni

wsaraceni Supporting Member

So you know when you were a kid you'd close your eyes and picture a guitar. This is that guitar. I've wanted a Gibson Les Paul since I started playing in 1998ish. The store where I took lessons had a few, but they all weighed 4000lbs and I couldn't really play them well. Dreams crushed. But in the back of my mind I always wanted one. For a while, I kind of wrote them off as junk. Every time the store would get a new one in I'd check it out and confirm, yup. I don't love it. But close my eyes at any time and that's what I picture when I see a guitar.

So fast forward a few years, and a bunch of guitars coming and going and I decide on a PRS Santana. I love this guitar. Its a maple top, mahogany body with a full rosewood neck. I always thought, it's kinda like a Les Paul with a trem in a way. I love everything about this guitar. but when I close my eyes and think of a guitar this wasn't it.

then one day there was a forum member of another forum that posts about a NJ meetup. some factory his family owns just has a ton of people there messing around with gear. must be like 100 amps. a real humble. a bunch of stuff. the coolest sounding "orange by matamp" I've ever heard. and a bunch of high end guitars. Finally. I played a Les Paul I liked. it was a custom shop R9. I didn't even know what that was. But at the time I couldn't afford it without selling my Santana.

Years go buy. I buy a few cheaper guitars. but never have the cash to blow on a $4k+ guitar. finally I went to Chicago for work a month back. I went to Chicago music exchange. what's the one thing you don't want to see when you are dying for a Les Paul, but probably shouldn't get one.

THIS