NGD McCarty 594

vrdl87

24 hours ago I recieved my PRS McCarty 594 Yellow Tiger in the mail. Given the fact that I have a toddler at home, the actual testing had to wait until the evening - and what better way is there to try a new guitar other then bringing it to a 3 hours band practice?

Before I share my thoughts based on the practice session, here is a short recap of my background.

I’ve been playing blues and soul guitar for roughly 25 years (gosh!). For the last 10, I’ve been suffering from severe gear addiction. The bad part about it - it stopped me from playing as much as I should have. The good? I’ve played pretty much what is to play!

When the McCarty first piqued my interest, I wanted to know if it could cover my LP CS R-needs, but also if it was able to do the single coil thing. Potentially this could help me getting closer to my goal of becoming a gear minimalist. After months of research my wife asked me «Do you really want this guitar?». «So bad!» I replied. «Let me buy it to you as a gift.» «Omg. I freaking love you!». Summed up: This is a gift of a lifetime - it’s not going anywhere.

Now, let’s move on to some NGD-thoughts!
  • Let’s start with the looks. Allthough it - to me - looks good in pictures, it looks flat out amazing in person. I’m not religious, but I could not help myself mentioning a couple of religious characters when I opened the case.
  • The craftmansship is great. No flaws at all with either finish or playability. All the LP CS R’s I’ve owned have all played great too, but there have been some under par work regarding binding and bleeding. No such thing on this one.
  • The radius and scale length will take some time getting used to, as it’s different from previous guitars I’ve owned. Feels good, but different.
  • The neck carve is also a thing of it’s own. Not R9. Not R8. Maybe somewhere in between.
  • This guitar just makes the strings ring forever. I’ve never experienced such a thing with other guitars I’ve owned.