NGD: PRS DC3

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by 57Strat777, May 11, 2015.

1. 57Strat777

57Strat777 Member

I've been playing Strats since 1969 and currently own four Fender Strats. About 3 months ago I bought a PRS NF3, which was my first new guitar in 15 years. I haven't played any of my Strats since the NF3 arrived. I loved the NF3 so much I bought a PRS DC3. I am still playing with the setup on the DC3, but the steel bridge (vs. brass on the NF3) is definitely a lot brighter and has more chime than the NF3. Quality and workmanship is superb on both guitars.

Dealer pic of actual NF3 I purchased
    [​IMG]

Dealer pic of actual DC3 I purchased
    [​IMG]

2. dmkz

dmkz Member

Congrats! I recently picked up a PRS Brent Mason to replace my strat and I couldn't be happier

3. davetone

davetone Member

Nice! Congrats on both guitars. I really really like the DC3. How about that nice dry maple neck?

It's too bad PRS doesn't make them anymore. The DC3 would have been my first PRS, but the local music store that I am loyal to only had a heavy one weight-wise (heavier than other DC3s I've seen in stores or online), so I passed. I ended up with a Swamp Ash Special Narrowfield which I like.

But I've always loved the DC3. Those are great guitars!

4. Raymond Lin

Raymond Lin Member

NF3 and DC3?

I think you need a 305 next ! :D

5. 57Strat777

57Strat777 Member

I love the neck finish and neck profile!!!!

Weight wise I think these two are pretty good. The NF3 weighs 6.8 lbs and the DC3 weighs 7.4 lbs. Playing a 6.8 lb guitar is so comfortable when you're used to playing 8 lb.+ guitars.

Those SAS guitars are sweet. It was a tough choice between the DC3, NF3 and SAS. I bought both of these from John Mann and he also has a SAS which I thought about but ultimately went with the NF3 and DC3 due to the 25 1/4 scale length

6. 57Strat777

57Strat777 Member