NGW / Jazz... I'm diving in head-first!

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Pete2, Jun 7, 2004.

1. Pete2

Pete2 Member

Hoooo boy.... Well, I just signed myself up for my first ever National Guitar Workshop, to learn about jazz guitar, something that I know next to nothing about. :eek:

I figured that the best way to get in the pool is to dive in head first...so what the heck! And I'm pretty excited... Anyone else going? Anybody have any experience with jazz instruction at NGW?

I applied for the CT campus August 9-15, the same week as the Jazz Summit, but I signed up for the Major/Minor for Jazz 1, since I have zero experience playing jazz. Should be fun! :)

Pete

2. artandink

artandink Member

Hey Pete,

I took a Jazz 2 major two years ago. It wasn't that advanced. I suggest you "audition" before the instructor to ascertain your level.

Are you commuting or staying in New Milford? Either way, you'll have a lot of fun.

I'm signed up for the Blues Summit again. It's the week before.

Art

3. Pete2

Pete2 Member

Hey Art, how do I audition-- is that done on the first day? I wasn't sure what level to sign up for. I've been playing guitar for 15 years, but know nothing about jazz and I'm weak with theory. But I've had years of piano lessons pre-guitar, so I know some music theory in general... just not specific to guitar.

I'm going to commute-- I only live maybe 45 minutes away, tops, which is shorter than my commute to work everyday!

Pete

4. artandink

artandink Member

On Sunday, after orientation, you meet with your major instructor for a brief assessment. It doesn't take them long to see if your in the right level. Jazz 1 is very basic. It might be worth it to pick up a beginning Jazz book to get some background. Go to the NGW site and look for the bookstore. I believe Jodi Fisher has a video and book on beginning Jazz.

5. AlexT

AlexT Guest

This is my third year (I signed up for Jazz 3 for the second week July).