Nick Greer Underdog 15

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by mrmojorisin, Dec 14, 2004.

1. mrmojorisin

mrmojorisin Member

Well, I walked into Juniors Music today not expecting to buy anything, let alone another amp. And especially not a Tweed style amp. I am a decidedly non-Fender guy...just never found one that felt alive to me like the Marshall style amps I covet.

Anyway, Junior tells me "you got to hear this one man...haven't heard an amp sound this good in a long while".

Nothing fancy by the looks of it. One G12H30 in a tweed pine combo cab. Pair of 6v6. 5Y3. Pair of 12AX7. Yawn. Like a Victoria. Nice amps but they don't float my boat too well...

Anyway, plugged it in. Turned up the volume and I noticed before I started playing that I am hearing movement on the strings and I am not moving my hands yet. Hmmm, seems pretty wired!Bang out a few chord and now the the hair on the back of my neck is standing straight up. Raw, snarling, junkyard dog, oh so righteous tweed tone. Deep south blues joint kinda tweed tone. 15 watts my ass! 15 WATTS MY ASS!

Bought it. Got it home and fired it up with my limba McNaught single cut with Lollar P90's. Filled the whole studio. Sounded huge...no way, its only a 1x12 right. Frigging huge. Where's the reverb coming from? Spacious 3D sound. Like I am playing in a friggin cavern...

I turn it off after a while and hum MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ME....MERRRY CHRISTMAS TO ME.

This is a really good one, and I got SN 002!

Then Jr drops me a line and says Nick Greer just called him and told him that Billy Gibbons is eyeing SN003 after hearing it for the first time, at Round Robins in Houston.

(singing voice)

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ME...MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ME

Anyone else out there heard one of these monsters yet?

My tweed cherry has definitely been broken...

Mucho thanks to Junior at Juniors Music for steering me to this one. He's a great guy, with a great store, for those of you who haven't done business with him.

Carl

2. dyer_maker