• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Nik Huber Krautster II - but on a hobby budget

Darth Jeb

I really like the look and the idea of the Krautster II. I had a double-agent years ago, but the body size was too small for me. I am not a pro musician, I like to play, but the investment into a guitar for a few grand is not feasible.

I know this is a rabbit hole question/idea, but is there a guitar body style like the Krautster out there that is more affordable that I could add my own P90 in the neck and a Humbucker in the bridge? I like the simplicity of toggle, volume, and tone. I have never been a master of the Gibson 4 knob system.

In random Reverb moments I have looked at a Player Series Telecaster (with two humbuckers), Yamaha Revstar, and the Santana Custom PRS SE (yellow) - caveat never played any of these.

Thanks to all!

Bossanova

Gold Supporting Member
I really like the look and the idea of the Krautster II. I had a double-agent years ago, but the body size was too small for me. I am not a pro musician, I like to play, but the investment into a guitar for a few grand is not feasible.

I know this is a rabbit hole question/idea, but is there a guitar body style like the Krautster out there that is more affordable that I could add my own P90 in the neck and a Humbucker in the bridge? I like the simplicity of toggle, volume, and tone. I have never been a master of the Gibson 4 knob system.

In random Reverb moments I have looked at a Player Series Telecaster (with two humbuckers), Yamaha Revstar, and the Santana Custom PRS SE (yellow) - caveat never played any of these.

Thanks to all!
The krautster body style is a single cut Les paul special, by Gibson. If you get a guitar that is HH you can easily get a P90 that fits into a Humbucker route. So the last question is, do you prefer slim or chunky necks?

justonwo

Platinum Supporting Member