1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

No Breakup and seemingly low plate voltage

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by benabloom, Feb 19, 2009.

1. benabloom

benabloom Member

Hi ,

I have a Bandmaster Reverb from '69, that has been modified with a Hoffman style turretboard and AB763 spec'ed, exceot that it has the earlier bias modulating trem (sounds great btw). Now the board was purchase stuffed from the airtightgarage and looks pretty, however I did not independantly varify the values of each component. This has been a long running project amp.

All of the Transformers are original and it is now living in a 2x10 cabinet (like a vibroluxe reverb) with 2 weber 10f150 speakers wired to = 4ohms total.

My issues with the amp as it is is that I cannot get any breakup at all even on 10. stays clean and loud. I tried biasing the tubes hotter and cooler and while the tone changes, there is no tube distortion happening.

Also of note, with a Gz34 recto I am measuring about 420v on the plates, and with a 5u4gb recto I am getting a measily 400v on the plates. Are these voltages indicative of a bad power transformer? something else on the circuitboard seem off with these readings?

I would like the amp to breakup earlier and it does not seem normal to me as it is. I am up for the challenge... now what should I do , look for etc?

-Ben

2. TweeDLX

TweeDLX Member

First thing that comes to my mind is checking the cathode resistor & bypass cap values, filter caps, and coupling caps against the original schematic. Plate resistors? A place to start, if nothing else.

Mike

3. SatelliteAmps

SatelliteAmps Member

420v doesn't seem like a bad transformer. Check to make sure your bias cap is in correctly (positive to ground). Then start taking some voltage measurements on the preamp and power tubes and give us a chart.

4. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member