Nocaster pickups

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Iceman63, Feb 29, 2012.

1. Iceman63

Iceman63 Member

Hello all,
    I'm not very experienced with Teles. What is the overall difference in nocaster pups(Im thinking they're custom shop) as opposed to other standard Tele pups, I mean tonal wise?
    Thanks for any info.

2. teleman1

teleman1 Supporting Member

IN reference to the bridge PU of a Nocaster. It is a more full complex tone. Not ice pick and not sharp bell ringy. Fat smooth??? All I know is that mine is set up Esquire on my Nocaster. I had a partsoesquire and had an Antiquity in the bridge and my comparison above is mainly against the Antiquity. And the Antiquity is a great sounding pickup, bi to my ears the Nocaster sounds better in all arenas. Ok now lets hear some other opinions and better explanations than mine.

3. GrungeMan

GrungeMan Supporting Member

The view from Ice Lake in The Great White North
    Depends which era you are referring too?
    Early ones were 10k(bridge) and the more current are 7.2k(or there about's), both have the zinc coated base plate.

Grungy :D

4. tonecontrol

tonecontrol Supporting Member

they`re a good pick up choice, I`ve been through a lot of Tele pick ups and find the nocaster set works the best for me, chimey/full yet not too filling!

5. Iceman63

Iceman63 Member

Thanks guys. It's a partscaster, so I would definately say they are re-issues or whatever the more recent are. The neck says Broadcaster, the guy selling it thinks it's an Allparts neck. Are they ok?

6. Kmaz

Kmaz Member

Allparts gets some respect around here as a lot of guys use them. I don't think those Nocaster pickups will let you down either. I'm happy with mine.

7. goodwater

goodwater Member

I think that they're great PUs---best tele PUs that I've played

8. stilesg57

stilesg57 Member

Depends what you mean by "other standard Tele Pups." What do you consider "standard?"