Nocaster thoughts after 3 weeks

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by usc96, Jan 5, 2008.

1. usc96

usc96 Member

This is a follow up from the Nocaster Insanity thread a few weeks back.

After a year of wanting a telecaster (I've been playing a Les Paul for two years, but started on a Mustang so I'm not new to Fender), I broke down and bought a Custom Shop Nocaster for Christmas. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect. I've played friends' teles, but I was never lucky enough to try a Nocaster.

Coming from a Les Paul, I expected a less loud, but nice sounding clean twangy guitar. From the outset, I liked the way it sounded and especially enjoyed the new sounds I was getting through the effects on my pedalboard. I did not expect they would sound that different, but some effects seem to be voiced better for Fenders.

I've kept the wiring original, though I was almost certain that I was going to switch to modern wiring. As currently wired, the neck pick up is just useless on its own. The Bridge pick up sounds like a dream though. At first I couldn't understand the rational behind the vintage wiring. Then I started playing around with the blend knob. Now I see the magic. The blend is wonderful sounding. My only complaint is why can't the neck pickup be useful on its own, plus give us the blend option.

I haven't been playing the Les Paul much over the past 3 weeks, but my years of prejudice had me still thinking the Les Paul has a fuller, and therefore, a better sound. However, today while recording using both guitars, it hit me that the Les Paul is not better, just different. They both have their own sound, but I'm starting to see the Nocaster as my go to guitar. :JAM