Noise issue at venue

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by 11justin22, Feb 11, 2012.

1. 11justin22

11justin22 Member

I play a mini recto at my church on Sundays, the church is in a school building that is ony a couple of years old. When I plug in there I get awful hiss and buzz from my amp. It only happens there, doesn't do it at my house or at the practice place. I'm thinking it may be the power even though it's a new building. What do u guys do about noise? Would a power conditioner help? If so which one.

2. pbmw

pbmw Member

There's a dimmer switch somewhere nearby.

3. 11justin22

11justin22 Member

Now that I think about it there is. I'm guessing that causes hum? Hw do I fix it?

4. Tread

Tread Member

Turn off dimmer switch.

5. 11justin22

11justin22 Member

Not possible.....

6. pbmw

pbmw Member

Dimmers are notorious for producing line noise.
    I only have one in my house and we took out all of them in the studio.
    I'm not an electrician but I know there are ways to cure this.

7. axelfoley

axelfoley Supporting Member

Tell them to rewire the building or you are out!

J/k. I have heard that if the switch is either off or on completely you can dodge the noise. Worth a shot.

8. Endr_rpm

Endr_rpm Member

[​IMG]

In the FX loop? Or the plug version. Otherwise, you're gonna need a power conditioner that is more than a glorified power strip, and those can get pricey.

9. WaterBearOne

WaterBearOne Member

Eliminate the guesswork: Do a quick & simple test to determine how & where the noise is getting into your amp:
    - Unplug your guitar cord (at the amp input). With the amp on and at playing volume, is the noise still there?