Novice Recording Questions

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by RedLizard, Dec 17, 2004.

1. RedLizard

RedLizard Member

I dig all the clips guys have posted to the soundclips forum and would like to contribute a few of my own, but I'm technologically challenged...make that illiterate. Could you guys provide some advice on some basic equipment I'll need to create my own clips? I definitely don't want or need anything fancy right now, just a setup that's good enough to allow me load up a backing track, record a solo, do some minor edits (i.e. reverb, delay) and then spin out a clip to post here.

I know software is a big part of this, so some pros/cons on the most popular options would be appreciated. Please keep in mind I'm a beginner and simpler is better. FWIW, I have a Koch Pedaltone preamp that has an unbalanced PA/Rec out, as does my Koch attenuator. I also have a Pod XT that I understand can shoot something to my PC via a USB connection.

Any help appreciated.

2. tedm

tedm Gold Supporting Member

What's your budget, and how many tracks would you need to record simultaneously?

3. RedLizard

RedLizard Member

Without knowing what even the most basic recording gear costs, I'll say my budget is $350. I'll have very little need for multiple tracks simultaneously. I just need something that allows me to add a single track of guitar to an mp3 backing track and then a way to add reverb, delay, etc... Something intuitive and straightforward. I'd lean toward something for direct recording, rather than using a microphone.

4. tedm

tedm Gold Supporting Member

These are just my opinions, but you could start with an EMU1212m 2 channel PCI card with great A/D converters, and go with a budget Behringer or other 4-6 channel mixer with at least a couple of channels with mic preamps.

Then a Shure SM57- or Sennheiser e609 mic.

The EMU comes with Wavelab lite, and Cubasis VST, but I've found cubasis VST cumbersome with a handful of decent plug-ins.