Obsessing Over Tone More Than Playing

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Wagster, Sep 19, 2019.

1. Wagster

Wagster Supporting Member

I notice a trend with players obsessing over their tone more than playing. When they post clips of their tones it's obvious that they're not putting in the time on their instrument. It's as if some magic pedal's gonna align the Universe.

2. soma

soma Supporting Member

Guilty. Trying to stop the rot these last couple of months.

Weirdly my tone improved drastically once I started practicing.

musicbliss, asilker, Babaroo and 27 others like this.
  3. Jabby92

Jabby92 Member

A lot of hobbyists mainly. Some people get more enjoyment/excitement out of buying pedals and amps than practicing and getting better. Personally I like having a lot less stuff and getting better because I find the more I play/practice the more I get out of each piece of gear and same with the tones. I like shaping and building my own sound but I hate adding in more and more stuff because it just complicates it, so I've bought way less gear in the past few years.

Its easy to fall into the gear buying trap but a lot of the time you are better off just playing what you have IMO.

kdm1218, Babaroo, ljs and 8 others like this.
  4. TimmyPage

TimmyPage Member

I found oddly that moving to digital (AxeFX) cured my GAS. I still keep/buy some pedals with unique sounds but I mostly practice and gig with the AxeFX.

I found some presets that I like and that work live, and I barely tweak or play with them, they sound great and it gives me more urge to just practice rather than tweak.

kdm1218, ljs and Tmidiman like this.
  5. tobereleased

tobereleased Member

I get the intent here, but this line of thinking can easily become a form of gatekeeping where you have people essentially saying that "x" guitarist isn't good enough for them to bother having nice tone.