Od-100 question.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by diminishedlogic, Jun 6, 2005.

1. So i was listening to some scott henderson last night, and I'm thinking to myself.... why, am I getting a bivalve? This man has the best strat tone i've ever heard....and hey... I LIKE STRATS TOO! I think something clicked. But i'm not entirely sure. All i can say is that the bivalve clips on the thd site.... don't exactly touch scott hendersons tone. All props to my fusion maestro gods, but they just dont touch scott henderson tone wise. So my question is this, Should i drop my idea to buy a bivalve and lose another year of my life to a glorious amp such as this? Also, can I get a holdsworth like tone with this amp?

2. Leonc

Leonc Wild Gear Hearder Gold Supporting Member

Well...the more you can play like Holdsworth and Henderson, the more you'll get those kinda tones out of that amp (or any other) :)

That being said--and I'm NO expert on this amp--I think it'll help get you a bit closer to his sound. I got to play through one the other night for the first time (and it was in fact the SH mod version), and played a Suhr strat through it...and I still sound like me, but I could definitely hear where SH's tone comes from.

All that being said--SH would probably get damn near the same sound playing thorugh a Flexi ;). The OD sound has a smoother refined quality to it that I think of being part of Scott's sound; and has somewhat more than the Flexi.

Holdsworth's tone...hmmm perhaps, I leave that to the more experienced OD100 players...