1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

OD pedal of popular choice

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Cary Chilton, Aug 10, 2005.

1. Cary Chilton

Cary Chilton Senior Member

I have a non master volume VERY old super lead 100 watt marshall, with a replace output trany by the imfamous OEI.
    I have classic rock coming out of every orfice. The headroom is incredible, such that even with a great classic AC/DC tone with the amp on 10, there is hardly any feedback and not much sustain. Well I have read all the forums out there on the net in the lsat 2 years and I have found this forum to be the most true what real freakin truly is. Kudos to you all.

So I am posting my question here: I want an OD pedal that gets me the musical feedback, sustain and even a little more gain. I have been looking at the TIM or TIMMY pedal. I have considered a Klon, talked with finnegan (though he wasn't very direct with his answers), a hot cake or a Barber THD. Price being no object, which ONE pedal would you recommend. Price being no object, keeping the OD pedal range which added pedal would you recommend for a little more gain ( not heavy as metallica etc)???

I have been chasing tonal nirvana for a good 7 -10 years. THat is why I have spent huge money on my plexi, and kick butt eminince red fang speakers. Please only fanatical brit tone freaks need reply.

thank you

Cary

2. Swarty

Swarty Member

I play very old Marshalls almost exclusively. Get a Timmy.

3. The Gainster

The Gainster Member

Start with a COT 50, then go from there.......... That is where the gain starts. Cleans up with your guitar. Amazing with big Marshalls! :)

Blues Wail likes this.
  4. John Phillips

John Phillips Member

#1. Replace the Red Fangs with Celestion G12M-25 Greenbacks.