OD/tube screamer advice for a Super Reverb?

I have a blackfaced 71 super reverb and have to pedals to overdrive it at reasonable volumes. I tried my MXR 108 Classic fuzz and it didnt work too well with it especially with the bright switch on. I play rock/blues/alternative kind of stuff. The Black Keys, old Kings of Leon, My Morning Jacket, John Mayer. I use a strat. What are good options for the Super Reverb?

B_of_H

What speakers?

IMHO and in my experience: speakers make a huge difference. If you have speakers with a scooped mid-range ala jensen p10r's they seem to make most dirt pedals sound fizzy and harsh. My SRRI with the stock speakers makes dirt pedals sound like a fizzy mess. Played through speakers with a more modern response the same amp sounds good with my dirt pedals.

of course I'm not an expert on this subject like others on here. :)

rer122504

I play a barber LTD with my bright switch on and I love it I also have a TS9 but mainly use that to boost lead

67blackcherry

For years, all I was using was a BF'ed Super and an old (real) TS9. Sounded like heaven. If I had to go that route again, I'd go with the 4x2 Flexi mod on a TS9 Turbo by Keeley; eight sound possibilities in one pedal.

Strat58

Hi I use for a Super Reverb (reissue) a Eternity with Cot 50 gold, works great with Deluxe Reverb to.
Peace Strat58

Trebor Renkluaf

I was hit by a parked car, what's your excuse?
Gold Supporting Member
For a Super Reverb a good Tubescreamer or any of the million variations on it.

kurt1981

Silver Supporting Member
love the maxon od-808 and or an xotic BB both sound killer into a BF fender. Maybe try flipping that bright switch down?

B_of_H

Just curious: all of these ts9 recs.

Why not just put a speaker in that has a full midrange and/ or get higher output pickups?
It seems to me like you've got a lack of mids in the speaker so you are using a mid-boost pedal that colors your tone to try to make up for it.