OD's, Distortions, Delays, Buffers, and the Kitchen Sink

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Jarick, Jun 18, 2006.

1. Jarick

Jarick Supporting Member

So I'm going full bore on pedals (for me anyway). Never had a nice rig even though I've been playing for 12 years. I picked up a Strobostomp tuner (it's so easy to use and so quick to tune...don't know why some people find it difficult) and a Zakk Wylde OD (for those gritty Marshall tones out of a clean amp). I already have a Bad Monkey (LOVE the thing), so I've got a couple bases covered.

I'm picking up a Crate VC3112 today (my first tube amp)...that's gonna be fun. And I know I can dial in a sweet clean, nice bluesy OD, gritty rock distortion, and a sweet lead tone with my current pedals.

I need a couple more pedals to round it out, then off to building the 'board. Occasionally I really like to cut loose and do some heavy stuff. Even though the stack of Bad Monkey and Zakk Wylde rocks pretty hard, it's kind of a tube-amp-on-11 sound, not a Recto-ish thing. I've heard good things about the Zoom Tri-Metal and am trying to find one...I was also thinking of the Metal Zone, but the pedal is so bad stock and I've never really enjoyed modded Boss pedals anyway. Any others you might suggest? Rocktron Zombie or whatever it is?

I'd also like to get a delay pedal with tap. Digital with decent tone is all I need. I tried a DL4 yesterday and it was okay, I'd rather not deal with the volume dropout issue anyways. The DD-20 was pretty slick, but it's so overkill for me and I'm worried about the buffer and power situation when I wire up the board. I was thinking of trying a used DLS EchoTap or finding an older Boss DD-5 and either getting the tap tempo switch or rehousing it for true-bypass and tap in one box.